Latest Posts

‘Everything Everywhere’ Wins Best Feature at the Independent Spirit Awards (Full List)

The blue carpet rolled out on Saturday and many of the year’s best independent films and TV series were recognized in Santa Barbara, California.

Everything Everywhere All At Once swept the 38th Independent Spirit Awards as it took home seven awards for Best Feature, both Best Director and Best Screenplay for Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Best Lead Performance for Michelle Yeoh, Best Supporting Performance for Ke Huy Quan, Best Breakout Performance for Stephanie Hsu, and Best Editing for Paul Rogers.

This is the first year of the Spirit Awards adopting a gender-neutral approach to its performance categories, meaning that Michelle Yeoh competed for Best Lead Performance against Cate Blanchett (TÁR), Paul Mescal (Aftersun), and Jeremy Pope (The Inspection) in the same category. Ke Huy Quan also competed against co-star Jamie Lee Curtis, Gabrielle Union (The Inspection), and Nina Hoss (TÁR) in the Best Supporting Performance category, in which the former won.

Other winners include Florian Hoffmeister for Best Cinematography for TÁR, Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun for Best First Feature, John Patton Ford for Best First Screenplay for Emily the Criminal, Laura Poitras’ All the Beauty and the Bloodshed for Best Documentary, Saim Sadiq’s Joyland for Best International Film, Ricky D’Ambrose’s The Cathedral for the John Cassavetes Award, Nikyatu Jusu (Nanny) taking home the Someone to Watch Award, Reid Davenport’s documentary I Didn’t See You There for the Truer Than Fiction Award, and Women Talking for the Robert Altman Award.

See the full winners list below, and watch the full ceremony on YouTube.

Best Feature

“Bones and All”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
“Our Father, the Devil”
“Women Talking”

Best Director

Todd Field, “TÁR”
Kogonada, “After Yang”
Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
Halina Reijn, “Bodies Bodies Bodies”

Best First Feature

“Aftersun” (WINNER)
“Emily the Criminal”
“The Inspection”
“Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Best Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett, “TÁR”
Dale Dickey, “A Love Song”
Mia Goth, “Pearl”
Regina Hall, “Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul”
Paul Mescal, “Aftersun”
Aubrey Plaza, “Emily the Criminal”
Jeremy Pope, “The Inspection”
Taylor Russell, “Bones and All”
Andrea Riseborough, “To Leslie”
Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)

Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Brian Tyree Henry, “Causeway”
Nina Hoss, “TÁR”
Brian d’Arcy James, “The Cathedral”
Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
Trevante Rhodes, “Bruiser”
Theo Rossi, “Emily the Criminal”
Mark Rylance, “Bones and All”
Jonathan Tucker, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Gabrielle Union, “The Inspection”

Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio, “Aftersun”
Gracija Filipović, “Murina”
Stephanie Hsu, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
Lily McInerny, “Palm Trees and Power Lines”
Daniel Zolghadri, “Funny Pages”

Best Screenplay

“After Yang”
“Catherine Called Birdy”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
“Women Talking”

Best First Screenplay

“Bodies Bodies Bodies”
“Emily the Criminal” (WINNER)
“Fire Island”
“Palm Trees and Power Lines”

Best Cinematography

“Neptune Frost”

Best Editing

“The Cathedral”
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (WINNER)
“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”

Robert Altman Award

“Women Talking”

Best Documentary

“A House Made of Splinters”
“All That Breathes”
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” (WINNER)
“Riotsville USA”

Best International Film

“Joyland” (WINNER)
“Leonor Will Never Die”
“Return to Seoul”
“Saint Omer”

Someone to Watch Award

Adamma Ebo, “Honk for Jesus, Save Your Soul”
Nikyatu Jusu, “Nanny” (WINNER)
Araceli Lemos, “Holy Emy”

Truer Than Fiction Award

Isabel Castro, “Mija”
Reid Davenport, “I Didn’t See You There” (WINNER)
Rebeca Huntt, “Beba (Bayba)”

John Cassavetes Award

“The African Desperate”
“A Love Song”
“The Cathedral” (WINNER)
“Holy Emy”
“Something in the Dirt”

Producers Award

Liz Cardenas
Tory Lenosky (WINNER)
David Grove Churchill Viste

Best New Scripted Series

“The Bear” (WINNER)
“The Porter”
“Station Eleven”

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

“Children of the Underground”
“Mind Over Murder”
“Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?”
“The Rehearsal” (WINNER)
“We Need to Talk About Cosby”

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Aml Ameen, “The Porter”
Mohammed Amer, “Mo”
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary” (WINNER)
Bridget Everett, “Somebody Somewhere”
KaMillion, “Rap Sh!t”
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets”
Himesh Patel, “Station Eleven”
Sue Ann Pien, “As We See It”
Adam Scott, “Severance”
Ben Whishaw, “This Is Going to Hurt”

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Danielle Deadwyler, “Station Eleven”
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear” (WINNER)
Jeff Hiller, “Somebody Somewhere”
Gbemisola Ikumelo, “A League of Their Own” (I think?)
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary”
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Frank Quiñones, “The Fool”
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Molly Shannon, “I Love That for You”
Tramell Tillman, “Severance”

Best Ensemble Cast in a new Scripted Series

“Pachinko” (WINNER)
Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn


Liked it? Take a second to support Hammer to Nail on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

M.J. O'Toole began writing for HtN in early 2021 during the Sundance Film Festival. An NYC native and lifelong cinephile, his favorite films include Chungking Express, The Three Colors Trilogy, Hiroshima Mon Amour, Lovers on the Bridge, and Midnight Cowboy. He is the Digital Marketing Manager for the agency 3rd Impression - working alongside Editor-at-large Matt Delman - that specializes in digital marketing for independent film. He holds a BA from Adelphi University and a Masters in Digital Photography from the School of Visual Arts. You can check out his portrait and street photography on Instagram.

Post a Comment

Website branding logosWebsite branding logos