Latest Posts

Cannes 2024 Winners: Sean Baker’s ‘Anora’ Wins the Palme d’Or (Full List)

Sean Baker's ANORA

The 77th Cannes Film Festival concluded today as the Greta Gerwig-fronted jury awarded the Palme d’Or to Sean Baker’s new sex worker comedy, Anora. It is also distributor NEON’s fifth consecutive Palme win following Anatomy of a Fall, Triangle of Sadness, Titane, and Parasite.

The festival ran from May 14 to 25. Its in-competition lineup featured highly anticipated new films from Francis Ford Coppola, David Cronenberg, Yorgos Lanthimos, Jacques Audiard, Mohammad Rasoulof, Jia Zhangke, Miguel Gomes, Coralie Fargeat, Andrea Arnold, Paul Schrader, Paolo Sorrentino, and more.  Alongside Gerwig, the jury also included Lily Gladstone, Eva Green, Omar Sy, Nadine Labaki, Hirokazu Kore-eda, J. A. Bayona, Pierfrancesco Favino, and Ebru Ceylan.

Palme winner Anora stars Mikey Madison (Scream, Better Things) as a Brooklyn stripper who gets more than she bargained for when she marries the son of a Russian oligarch. Baker is no stranger to Cannes, as he premiered his last two films – Red Rocket and The Florida Project – at the festival. It’s safe to say that NEON will likely set it for an awards season run later this year.

Picking up the Grand Prix award is writer-director Payal Kapadia’s drama All We Imagine As Light, which centers on the relationships between nurses dealing with complicated relationships in modern-day Mumbai. Sideshow and Janus Films picked up the rights during the festival and may likely release it later in the year. Jacques Audiard’s crime musical Emilia Pérez, which astonished plenty of viewers at Cannes, picked up both the Jury Prize and Best Actress – the latter of which was awarded to the ensemble of Karla Sofía Gascón, Zoe Saldaña, Selena Gomez, and Adriana Paz.

The Best Actor prize was awarded to Jesse Plemons for his performance(s) in Yorgos Lanthimos’ new cringefest Kinds of Kindness, which arrives in theaters June 21. Coralie Fargeat (Revenge) won Best Screenplay for her new body horror The Substance, which MUBI will release worldwide later this year. Miguel Gomes (Tabu) took home Best Director for his beguiling period drama, Grand Tour. Another winner that certainly captivated Cannes audiences was Mohammad Rasoulof’s ever-so-timely The Seed of The Sacred Fig, which was presented with both the FIPRESCI Prize and a Special Jury Award for Best Screenplay. 

See the full list of winners below:

Palme d’Or
Anora, dir: Sean Baker

Grand Prize
All We Imagine as Light, dir: Payal Kapadia

Jury Prize
Emilia Perez, dir: Jacques Audiard

Best Director
Miguel Gomes, Grand Tour

Special Prize
Mohammad Rasoulof, The Seed of the Sacred Fig

Best Actor
Jesse Plemons, Kinds of Kindness

Best Actress
Emilia Perez ensemble: Adriana Paz, Zoe Saldana, Karla Sofia Gascon, Selena Gomez

Best Screenplay
The Substance, Coralie Fargeat

Camera d’Or
Armand, dir: Halfdan Ullmann Tøndel

Special Mention
Mongrel, dir: Chiang Wei Liang

Short Film Palme d’Or
The Man Who Could Not Remain Silent, dir: Nebojsa Slijepcevic

Special Mention
Bad For a Moment, dir: Daniel Soares

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: 

Ernest Cole: Lost and Found, dir. Raoul Peck; The Brink of Dreams, dirs. Ayman El Amir & Nada Riyadh

Queer Palm: 

Three Kilometers to the End of the World, dir. Emanuel Parvu

Liked it? Take a second to support Hammer to Nail on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

M.J. O'Toole began writing for HtN in early 2021 during the Sundance Film Festival. An NYC native and lifelong cinephile, his favorite films include Chungking Express, The Three Colors Trilogy, Hiroshima Mon Amour, Lovers on the Bridge, and Midnight Cowboy. He is the Digital Marketing Manager for the agency 3rd Impression - working alongside Editor-at-large Matt Delman - that specializes in digital marketing for independent film. He holds a BA from Adelphi University and a Masters in Digital Photography from the School of Visual Arts. You can check out his portrait and street photography on Instagram.

Post a Comment

Website branding logosWebsite branding logos