Latest Posts

CANNES 2022 WINNERS: ‘Triangle of Sadness’ Wins The Palme d’Or (Full List)

The festival on the Croisette has concluded. After two weeks of breathtaking international cinema, the 75th Cannes Film Festival came to a close with the announcement of the winners, all culminating in the prestigious Palme d’Or. The lineup featured exciting new films from filmmaking legends (David Cronenberg & Claire Denis), past Palme winners (Hirokazu Kore-eda & The Dardenne Brothers), and fresh breakout voices (Lukas Dhont & Ali Abassi). The main competition jury members were Vincent Lindon, Rebecca Hall, Asghar Farhadi, Ladj Ly, Joachim Trier, Jeff Nichols, Deepika Padukone, Noomi Rapace, and Jasmine Trinca. When it comes to Cannes, it’s usually safe to expect the unexpected.

Ruben Östlund won his second Palme d’Or for his new social satire Triangle of Sadness. His second win since 2017’s The Square, his new comedy of manners brought a wide variety of reactions, ranging from laughter to disgust. Neon picked up the North American rights to the film, and we will hopefully expect a release sometime later this year. This is the third Neon film to win the Palme, after last year’s Titane and 2019’s eventual Oscar-winner Parasite. In this review, HtN’s own Jack Schencker wrote, “This is a powerhouse achievement from Östlund. For two hours and thirty minutes, this movie continuously made me laugh, shocked me, and left me inspired. It went places I never expected. Triangle of Sadness is that rare blend of high craft and pure entertainment that is hard to find today. In a time when most films playing Cannes are depressing, it was extremely refreshing to see a full-fledged comedy. It’s the type of movie you want to see with a big crowd. The film guarantees people will either be howling with laughter or walking out.”

Other Cannes winners include a tie for the Grand Prix Award (second place) between Claire Denis’ Nicaragua-set thriller The Stars at Night, and Lukas Dhont’s boyhood tale Close. A24 will release both films in North America. There was also a tie for the Jury Prize between two other films Jack Schencker had the pleasure of reviewing: Jerzy Skolimowski’s donkey tale EO, and Felix Van Groenigen & Charlotte Vandermeersch’s The Eighth Mountain. The acting awards were given out to Zar Amir Ebrahimi for her role in Ali Abassi’s Holy Spider and Song Kang-Ho in Hirokazu Kore-eda’s Broker. The Best Director Award was granted to Park Chan-Wook for his new head-turning thriller Decision To Leave. First-time filmmakers were also recognized as the Camera d’Or for first feature was awarded to Riley Keough & Gina Gammell’s War Pony.

See the full list of winners from all sections below:



Palme d’Or: “Triangle of Sadness,” directed by Ruben Östlund

Grand Prix: “Close” directed by Lukas Dhont; “The Stars at Noon” directed by Claire Denis (tie)

Jury Prize:EO,” directed by Jerzy Skolimowski; “The Eight Mountains,” directed by Felix Van Groeningen & Charlotte Vandermeersch (tie)

Best Actor: Song Kang-ho, “Broker”

Best Actress: Zar Amir Ebrahimi, “Holy Spider”

Best Director: Park Chan-Wook, “Decision To Leave”

Best Screenplay: Tarik Saleh, “Boy From Heaven”

Special Prize for Cannes’ 75th Anniversary: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Tori and Lokita”

Camera d’Or: “War Pony,” directed by Gina Gammell & Riley Keough

Camera d’Or Special Mention: “Plan 75,” directed by Chie Hayakawa

Short Film Palme d’Or: “The Water Murmurs,” directed by Jianying Chen



Prix Un Certain Regard: “The Worst Ones,” directed by Lise Akoka & Romane Gueret

Jury Prize: “Joyland,” directed by Saim Sadiq

Best Director: Alexandru Belc, “Metronom”

Best Performance: Vicky Krieps, “Corsage” and Adam Bessa, “Harka”

Best Screenplay: Maha Haj, “Mediterranean Fever”

Coup de Coeur Award: “Rodeo,” directed by Lola Quivoron



In Competition: “Lelia’s Brothers,” directed by Saeed Roustaee

Un Certain Regard: “The Blue Caftan,” directed by Maryam Touzani

Parallel Section (first features): “Love According To Dalva,” directed by Emmanuelle Nicot



Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: “Broker,” directed by Hirokazu Kore-eda



Grand Prize: “La Jauria, directed by Andrés Ramírez Pulido

French Touch Prize of the Jury: “Aftersun, directed by Charlotte Wells

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Zelda Samson, “Love According To Dalva”

Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “Ice Merchants,” directed by João Gonzalez

Gan Foundation Award for Distribution: “The Woodcutter Story,” directed by Mikko Myllylahti

SACD Prize: Andrés Ramírez Pulido for “La Jauria”

Canal+ Award for Short Film: “On Xerxes’ Throne,” directed by Evi Kalogiropoulou



Europa Cinemas Label Award for Best European Film: “One Fine Morning,” directed by Mia Hansen-Løve

SACD Award for Best French-language Film: “The Mountain,” directed by Thomas Salvador

Carrosse d’Or: Kelly Reichardt‎‎



Best Documentary:All That Breathes,” directed by Shaunak Sen

Special Jury Prize: “Mariupolis 2,” directed by Mantas Kvedaravicius

Liked it? Take a second to support Hammer to Nail on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

M.J. O'Toole began writing for HtN in early 2021 during the Sundance Film Festival. An NYC native and lifelong cinephile, his favorite films include Chungking Express, The Three Colors Trilogy, Hiroshima Mon Amour, Lovers on the Bridge, and Midnight Cowboy. He is the Digital Marketing Manager for the agency 3rd Impression - working alongside Editor-at-large Matt Delman - that specializes in digital marketing for independent film. He holds a BA from Adelphi University and a Masters in Digital Photography from the School of Visual Arts. You can check out his portrait and street photography on Instagram.

Post a Comment

Website branding logosWebsite branding logos